It just so happens to be the one day that’s set aside throughout the year to celebrate love.  It also happens to be the first Valentine’s Day my husband and I are spending together – married.  Call it coincidence or call it fate, but today’s the day I’ve decided to tell you the story of my newlywed life.  It’s not sugar-coated, and it’s not super-depressing.  It just is what it is. 

If you’re anything like me, you were probably really excited that you finally found the man of your dreams after years of finding the wrong man, over and over.  I had basically given up on love and marriage and was preparing myself to end up a Sex in the City spinster, hopefully living in some fab metropolitan city like New York, and pursuing the career I always knew I was meant to have.  Things didn’t turn out quite as dreary as I thought, because one day I met the guy who embodied exactly everything I had put on the list of characteristics I wanted in a perfect mate.  He was smart, romantic, a good listener, good looking… blah, blah, blah.  You get the point.  In fact, he was so perfect, it kind of freaked me out for a while.  He even shared my viewpoints on not wanting to get married and not wanting to be in a serious relationship.  Well, after a couple of weeks of bliss, our reluctance to enter into a serious relationship deteriorated as we spent every waking, breathing moment together we possible could. 

Eventually all of this blissful dating lead to a proposal, a wedding and a marriage.  So, today we celebrate that sequence of events in our first married Valentine’s Day!  At least we will when he gets home from class at 9:30 tonight.

